For the Love of GOD


I am on a quest…
March 20, 2009, 6:51 AM
Filed under: New Zealand, Snowboarding
Ill be able to do this someday
I’ll be able to do this someday

Snowboarding. One of my loves, a favorite things to do. I have been snowboarding for two years and there is nothing I would like better than to be ski bum, in New Zealand! So, I graduate in June and that is when the season starts down there. I have applied to quite a few resorts, for various positions, and I am going to e-mail a few about internships. One of my top choice resorts is Mt. Ruapehu which is located in the North Island. This is actually an active volcano, was Mt. Doom in the Lord of the Rings, and is NZ’s largest ski area! It would be really fun to work here because of it’s size and there would be so many people from various parts of the world I would meet. Other resorts I applied to are Mt. HuttThe Remarkables, Coronet Peak, and Ohau Snow Fields. Big resorts, like Mt. Ruapehu, and small resorts, like Ohua Snow Fields, have benefits and drawbacks, but when it comes to being a ski bum in NZ I don’t really care where I work as long as I get hired somewhere.

Sunset eruption at Mt. Ruapehu

Sunset eruption at Mt. Ruapehu

The hiring process is going to be tricky for me though. I applied for my NZ holiday work permit earlier this week, which allows me to work in NZ for twelve months. Immigration should be getting back to me soon, hopefully this coming week with the go ahead. The resorts are doing their recruiting now and should be doing interviews in May, which I won’t be able to attend, and then training shortly thereafter. I hope they are pretty lenient about this stuff because I don’t graduate until June 13, and at this time some of the resorts are already open for the season. I am going to try everything I can to get down there though. I might try and rent a room somewhere and find work anywhere during the winter months, if I can’t get hired at a ski resort, before heading to school in the spring.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

